Organized in 1975
Alpha Kappa Chapter evolved from the inspiration of National Officer Gladys I. Hall and SWR Director Ora McGowen from the oldest Houston Chapter Beta Pi. From that, a spin-off developed the Houston Chapters Beta Delta and later Alpha Kappa which was organized under the administration of SWR Director- Bernice T. Evans Gamma Phi Chapter, San Antonio, Texas (founder and developer of "the "Crazy Hat").
Alpha Kappa Charter Members consisted of  Casper Adams, Naurita Chambers, Dorothy Gilbert, Willie Graves, Myrtle Green, Earnestyne Leonard, Dorothy Matthews, Bertha Ann Moore, Illa Collins and Lillian F. Parker.
Since 1975,  two national officers, five regional officers, five outstanding chapter presidents and one national soror of the year were elected, selected, and recognized.
                                        National Officers
Lillian F. Parker -  18th National President 1999-2003
Pauletta Hooper - National Recording Secretary 1999-2003
Edwin Davis - National President of the LAMBDS ( Men of Iota)
                                         Regional Officers
Lillian F. Parker -  SWR Director 1983-1985
Brenda Sloan Johnson - SWR Director (deceased) 1997-2001
Pauletta Hooper - Recording Secretary 1991-1993
  Recording/Financial Secretary 1993-1995
Leana Taylor - Journalist 2006-2010
Mary Bryan - Journalist 2010 -
Linda Cannon - SWR Director 2013-2017
Rosetta Davis - Ast. SWR Director 2017-current
Sucelia Crowe - Honorary Soror 2014
Dr. Emily Bartley - Honorary Soror 2015
Outstanding Chapter 1993, 1999, 2003, 2011, 2012, 2014,
National Outstanding Soror of the Year
       Pauletta Hooper 2005
National Honorary Soror
          Lora Clemmons
Outstanding Chapter Presidents
     Pauletta Marsden Hooper 1991-1993
        Linda Cannon 1993-1995
        Bobbie Ammons 1997-1999
        Leana Taylor 2001-2003
       Rosetta Davis 2010-2011 and 2011-2012
       Carolyn Jones 2014-2015 and 2018-2019
Outstanding Business Woman
         Karen Jackson, Dr. Bettye Lewis
Scholarships, Future Iota Leaders,  & Auxilaries
Scholarship Recipients
2013- Minnie Baptiste
 2014 -Nykia. Bailey
 2015 - Chelsea Conaway
2016 - Zachary Sowell
Evelyn D. Wilkey Essay Recipient
1st place National - Mellary Hubbard - 2015





Trailblazers of Alpha Kappa Chapter