carolyn jone 2019.jpg






Sorors we have officially reached the end of the summer break and the start of the 2019-2020 Sorority year! 

I cannot express how excited I am about what’s to come for our chapter (AK) as we work to build membership across the Houston area. Last Sorority year all of us came together and worked tirelessly to find better solutions that supported our programs and projects in every capacity outside of the chapter and yielded better results inside the chapter. I am happy to announce that we can finally bear witness to the fruits of our labor. We’re making significant strides and gaining traction in closing achievements gaps for our Young Entrepreneurs and proving that our youth are more than capable when we all work collectively to support their academic outcomes for scholarships.

President Jones

President's Workshop



Planning for the upcoming sorority year takes many hours of contacting individuals who will be able to assist in setting venues, providing services relevant to the sorority year, setting committee chairs, creating excitement, increasing membership and just establishing plans for all the National programs and projects of Iota. This requires the entire chapter to provide input, thus the President’s Workshop was held Saturday August 31, 2019.

Soror Jones and her Executive Committee set the tone for 2019-2020 and “The Charge” by past Outstanding Business Entrepreneur Chef Tarsha. 

Moving on Up!!!


Chapter Officers



Carolyn Jones


Connie Anglin

Recording Secretary

Ethel Bell Ed.D.

Corresponding Secretary

Ruth Taylor

Financial Secretary

Marion Godine, Ph.D


Rosetta Davis


Linda Cannon


Dean of Intake

Lillian F. Parker